HASTINGS, Neb. -- Nebraska's southern border is bracing for potentially severe weather.

Franklin, Furnas, Harlan, Nuckolls and Webster Counties are under a severe thunderstorm watch until noon CT, while Jefferson and Thayer Counties are under a watch until 6:00 p.m. CT. 

Parts of Franklin and Webster Counties were placed in a severe thunderstorm warning until 11:30 a.m.

Just two counties south of Nebraska, in Kansas' Rooks County, a tornado warning was issued until 11:30 a.m. CT.