LINCOLN, Neb. -- A local city of Fairbury worker received an award for his dedication in the electricity department. 

The Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska presented Nate Francis, Electric Distribution Superintendent for the city of Fairbury, with its Rudy Hultgren Dedicated Service Award on March 20 at the NMPP Energy Annual Conference in Lincoln.

Francis has served the city of Fairbury for 10 years, including nearly four years as electric distribution superintendent. He is at the forefront of maintaining and developing the city’s electric distribution system.

His award nomination cited his vision of modernizing the city’s electric infrastructure and his selflessness while performing his duties in the Fairbury Electric Department.

As the recipient of the award, Francis received $350 which will be designated to go to a community project or group. 

The award is presented annually to an individual of a MEAN member utility who has displayed commendable efforts in promoting the use of public power and its ideals. 

The award is a memorial tribute to Rudy Hultgren, a utility consultant and well-known and respected citizen of Lyons, Colo., who played an active role in community service and leadership.