**4 p.m. UPDATE: The National Weather Service has expanded the Tornado Watch to include Jefferson, Saline, Gage, Lancaster, Pawnee, Johnson, Nemaha and Richardson counties in Nebraska.

Brown, Nemaha, Washington, Republic and Marshall counties in Kansas have also been added to the watch. 

The watch lasts until 11 p.m. for those counties. For the one listed in the original story, the watch is set to expire at 9 p.m.


As Nebraska prepares to deal with severe storms Friday afternoon and evening, the National Weather Service has issued its first watch of the day. 

A Tornado Watch is in effect for south central Nebraska and north central Kansas until 9 p.m. Friday. 

Nebraska counties included are Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Custer, Dawson, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Howard, Kearney, Merrick, Nance, Nuckolls, Phelps, Polk, Red Willow, Sherman, Thayer, Webster and York. 

In Kansas Decatur, Graham, Jewell, Mitchell, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rooks, Sheridan and Smith counties are included. 

In addition to the possibility of tornadoes, tonight's storms may bring large hail, damaging winds and flash flooding to the area.